New University of Lisbon (Universidade Nova de Lisboa)

University Information, Campus and History
(Lisbon, Portugal)

The Universidade Nova de Lisboa (New University of Lisbon) was founded in August 1973, and it is the youngest public university in Lisbon, Portugal. It was created to expand and diversify Portugal's higher education system due to the steady rise of students demanding higher education in and around Lisbon.

The university began by offering a limited number of specialist and graduate programmes to interested students. However, the increasing demand for diversified subjects forced the university to expand its regular degree programs in 1977. Since then, it has added pioneering programmes like Communications Sciences, Computer Sciences, Physics and Materials Engineering, and Musicology to its curriculum.

Unlike other public universities, the New University of Lisbon is a decentralised university, with over ten main buildings that houses its faculties, special institutes, and libraries. It has four university institutes and five faculties built within and outside Lisbon. The faculties are focused on education, science, humanities, and management. They are made up of:
  • Medical Sciences
  • Human and Social Sciences
  • Law
  • Sciences
  • Economics

Today, Portugal's Ministry of Higher Education and Science funds the New University of Lisbon. As of 2005, it has over 2,000 graduate students and 12,000 undergraduate students. Four percent of its student population is comprised of international students, while 57% are women. The university offers over 40 undergraduate programmes, 65 master programmes, 20 doctorate programmes, and 44 postgraduate programmes.


The New University of Lisbon has over ten buildings located all over Lisbon. These buildings accommodate the five university faculties, several specialized institutes, university canteens, libraries, and student centres.

With the exception of the Faculty of Sciences and Technology that is built on Monte de Caparica near the Tagus river, the universities' other buildings are built relatively near each other. These buildings are:
  • Escola Nacional de Saúde Pública
  • Instituto de Higiene e Medicina Tropical
  • Faculdade de Ciências Médicas
  • Instituto Superior de Estatística e Gestão de Informação
  • Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia
  • Faculdade de Economia
  • Faculdade de Direito
  • Instituto de Tecnologia Química e Biológica
  • Rectory of Universidade Nova de Lisboa
  • Faculdade de Ciências Sociais e Humanas

The university has several libraries within the faculty buildings located in various parts of Lisbon. These libraries contain numerous printed books, journals, archives, dissertations, and audio-visual recordings that students and faculty members can use for research.

Each faculty also has its own canteen that opens from morning until evening and serves drinks and hot meals. The canteens are also venues for small meetings and group studies.

The university has three student residences - the Alfredo de Sousa Residence, Fraústo da Silva Residence, and the Lumiar Residence. The Lumiar and Alfredo de Sousa residences are located in Lisbon, while the Frausto da Silva residence is located in Monte de Caparica.

Famous Students

Some of the famous students of the New University of Lisbon are João Gomes Ferreira, former Portugal president Jorge Sampaio, former prime minister and businessman Francisco Pinto Balsemao, and First Republic political leader Afonso Costa.

Interested international applicants may contact the university rectory at +351 213 715 600 for inquries about admissions, special examinations, course offerings, and student accommodation.

Contact New University of Lisbon (Universidade Nova de Lisboa):
Address: Campus de Campolide, 1099-085, Lisboa, Portugal
Tel: +351 (0)213 715 600
Fax: +351 (0)213 715 614
Lisbon University

Lisbon University

I'm looking for: